Bad Soden, Germany,

Sabine Scheunert new Supervisory Board Member at Messer

Messer has named Sabine Scheunert, Vice President Digital & IT Sales/Marketing Mercedes-Benz Cars at Mercedes-Benz AG, to the Supervisory Board. Messer is the world’s largest family-run specialist for gases used in industry, environmental protection, the food and beverage sector, medicine, welding and cutting technology, 3D printing, construction, research and science. “Sabine Scheunert adds to our Supervisory Board with her expertise in the field of development of digital business models and the value contribution of rapidly developing software technology. Her specialized knowledge, her experience in the Chinese market, and her open-minded personality that is always eager to learn enrich our Group considerably,” says Stefan Messer, Chairman of the Management Board of Messer SE & Co. KGaA. With the addition of Sabine Scheunert, Messer’s supervisory body now comprises four women and four men.

In her function at Mercedes, Sabine Scheunert is responsible for all IT-based marketing, sales and after-sales activities as well as the complete digital customer experience of the brand. With a global team of more than 2,000 employees, Sabine Scheunert established a digital ecosystem that holds the customer close to the brand. Before joining Mercedes-Benz, Scheunert was Managing Director of the Citröen brand in Shanghai and thus the first female CEO of an OEM in China. From 2010 to 2015, she served as Directrice CRM & IT at the PSA Group in Paris and led the worldwide strategy for stronger customer focus. At the start of her professional career, Sabine Scheunert worked in various management functions of the BMW Group in Munich and in Paris.

The Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Messer is Dr. Jürgen Heraeus. Along with Sabine Scheunert and shareholders of the Messer Family, Messer’s oversight body includes Dr. Werner Breuers as Vice-Chairman, Dr. Nathalie von Siemens, Heike Niehues, Dr. Karl-Gerhard Seifert and Dr. Johannes Fritz as Chairman of the Audit Committee.